In the United States, every driver must legally have the minimum auto insurance coverage to drive and operate a vehicle on roads and highways. In California, there are different types of car insurance you can opt for when selecting a policy. Generally, the state requires a minimum of bodily injury and property damage coverage.
Many people have questions about auto insurance coverage, especially in the case of an accident. Suppose you are injured in a collision with a negligent driver. In that case, it’s essential to understand the different types of coverage and how your injuries or damages are compensated in an at-fault state such as California. At Setareh Law Firm, our knowledgeable attorney helps injured accident victims by evaluating available coverage and navigating a lawsuit if the damages exceed the negligent party’s coverage.
Required Auto Insurance Coverage in California
Every state has different requirements for the minimum amount of auto insurance coverage needed when driving a car. In California, drivers must obtain personal liability coverage, including bodily injury and property damage policies.
The minimum required auto insurance coverage in California includes:
- Bodily injury: Must have at least $15,000 for injury or death to one person and at least $30,000 for injury or death to more than one person.
- Property damage: Must have at least a $5,000 policy.
Proof of insurance is required during traffic stops while registering or purchasing a car and after being involved in an accident. Without auto insurance, a driver may face financial and legal penalties, including the risk of a license suspension. With many insurance options available, it’s essential to understand the different coverages and how claims are handled.
What Are the Different Types of Car Insurance in California?
In California, several types of auto insurance are available to drivers. Depending on the car’s age, how often someone drives, previous accidents, driving records, and other considerations, it can be beneficial to have a whole policy at the time of an accident.
Here are the different types of car insurance options in California:
Personal Liability Coverage
Personal liability coverage consists of necessary bodily injury and property damages policies required by the state and other higher coverage policies depending on the company. With this coverage, only the damage and injuries incurred from a collision you cause and proven negligent in are covered.
Insurance companies are required to offer uninsured and underinsured motorists policies, but drivers are permitted to waive these policies. However, this coverage is beneficial in cases where another driver is not insured or does not have enough coverage to compensate for the damage and injuries they cause in a car crash. Once in effect, the injured party may have medical coverage benefits their health insurance may not offer.
A collision coverage policy is beneficial for accidents involving pedestrians, vehicles, and property that leave a driver’s car damaged. Covered drivers may file claims to compensate for the total damage their car endures in a collision, either as a total loss to replace the vehicle or to repair the damage.
When cars are damaged from natural disasters, falling objects, and other circumstances where the policyholder has no control, comprehensive coverage can cover the damage. At times, comprehensive coverage is required to lease or rent a car.
No-Fault Medical Coverage
No-fault medical coverage, such as Med Pay, is an optional coverage plan that covers medical or healthcare costs and funeral expenses for the policyholder and passengers. Regardless of the circumstance surrounding the accident and who is at fault, this policy generally reimburses the policyholder for accident-related medical costs.
With gap coverage, policyholders are covered financially regarding the cost of their vehicle after an accident. If you have gap coverage and you finance or lease a car that is totaled, gap coverage will go into effect to cover the remaining costs of what you owe after your car is valued.
Self-Insured and DMV Cash Advance Options
California DMV offers drivers the opportunity to present acceptable forms of insurance coverage, such as a standard auto coverage policy or self-insured options. To be self-insured, drivers must present a cash deposit of $35,000 to the DMV, receive a DMV-issued self-insured certificate, or have a surety bond of $35,000 from a company licensed to do business in California.
Can I File an Auto Accident Claim After an Accident With an Uninsured or Underinsured Motorist?
If you are injured in a collision with a motorist that does not have insurance or whose policy is not enough to cover injuries and damages, you may still be able to recover compensation. With our skilled attorney on your case, you may find the best option to get the recovery needs you require, either with your insurance coverage, underinsured/uninsured motorists coverage, or through an injury lawsuit.
An Experienced Car Accident Lawyer at Setareh Law Firm May Help You File a Claim After a Car Crash
Navigating through an injury claim can be challenging, especially in the case where you are unsure of the negligent party’s insurance coverage and how you may pursue compensable damages. Our Spanish-speaking attorney at Setareh Law Firm brings years of experience and legal knowledge to injured accident victims within California communities.
In California, an at-fault auto accident state with a pure comparative negligence rule, it is beneficial to obtain legal help from a reliable and honest attorney. Our legal team is eager to help you pursue non-economic and economic damages you are eligible to recover. To put your best foot forward in any case, complete a contact form or call us at (310) 659-1826.